A stiff run chase lies ahead for Pakistan

Muneeb Farrukh
By Muneeb Farrukh January 22, 2016 10:45

A stiff run chase lies ahead for Pakistan

With the series on the line Pakistan and New Zealand faced off in the final T20 match at the Westpac stadium in Wellington. Pakistan won the toss and elected to bowl first in the in seemingly good bowling conditions according to captain Shahid Afridi.

Pakistan made two changes in their side as Umar Gul and Sohaib Maqsood were dropped and were replaced by Anwar Ali and Mohammad Rizwan. Meanwhile the Kiwi side brought in Trent Boult in place of Todd Astle.

Pakistan XI: A Shehzad, M Hafeez, M Rizwan, S Malik, U Akmal, *S Afridi, +S Ahmed, I Wasim, Wahab Riaz, U Ali, M Amir

New Zealand XI: M Guptill, *K Williamson, C Munro, C Anderson, G Elliott, +L Ronchi, M Santner, T Boult, A Milne, R Taylor, M McClenaghan

Martin Guptill creamed Anwar Ali for a four on the very first ball of the match and began the match in emphatic fashion.

The kiwi side got off to a great start and were 40/0 in just three overs. They reached 50 runs in the 5th over of the match.

Martin Guptill was dismissed for 42 runs off 19 balls by the captain Shahid Afridi in the 6th over. Colin Munro was the next man to depart as Mohammad Rizwan sent him packing courtesy a direct throw.

New Zealand lost their captain for 33 runs when Wahab Riaz had him caught at long off when the score reached 94/3 at the end of 11 overs.

The home side reached 129/3 in the 15th over with Anderson on 36 and Elliot at 4.

Corey Anderson reached his fifty of just 27 balls as Kiwi team marched onto 159/3 in 17 overs.

Pakistan were set a target of 197 runs in their allotted 20 overs. Corey Anderson top scored with 82 runs off 42 balls while from Pakistan Wahab Riaz picked up two wickets for 43 runs in his 4 overs while one wicket was taken by Shahid Afridi.


Muneeb Farrukh
Muneeb Farrukh is a blogger from Karachi currently doing his ACCA after having completed his O & A levels. He is a true sports aficionado and in particular a cricket enthusiast. The writer is also editor at ARY web sports. His twitter handle is @Muneeb313_



Muneeb Farrukh
By Muneeb Farrukh January 22, 2016 10:45


Follow Us

  • YouTube


Which team will lift the La Liga title this season?


October 2016
« Sep