Afghanistan marred by hiccups before T20 World Cup


KABUL: Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan left the national team’s captaincy by claiming that his ‘consent was not taken before announcing the T20 World Cup squad’. 

The decision from Rashid came just weeks before the T20 World Cup and it made Afghani cricket fans a bit concerned.

“As the captain and responsible person for the nation, I reserve the right to be part of the selection of the team. The selection committee and ACB has not obtained my consent for the team which has been announced by ACB media,” Rashid said in a statement on Twitter.

“I am taking the decision of stepping down from the role as the captain of Afghanistan T20 side effective immediately. It’s Always my proud playing for Afghanistan,” he added.

But, the Taliban spokesperson clarified the situation by stating that Rashid’s resignation was approved and Mohammad Nabi will lead the side in the mega event.

Afghanistan is placed in Group 2 of the tournament alongside India, Pakistan, and New Zealand with two more teams to be decided after Qualifiers.

Afghanistan T20 World Cup Squad: Rashid Khan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Shahzad, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Naveen ul Haq, Hamid Hassan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Qais Ahmed

READ: ‘Situation is not ideal after Misbah, Waqar exit’ Shadab Khan