Boult takes hat-trick as Pakistan tottering on 8-3

Boult takes hat-trick as Pakistan tottering on 8-3

Trent Boult with a convincing hat-trick put Pakistan under pressure as they are tottering on 8-3 while chasing 267 runs in the first One Day of three-match ODI series in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam and Mohammad Hafeez were the three victims of the talented left-arm Kiwi pacer that left Pakistan reeling while chasing a firm total of 267 runs.

Earlier, Pakistan’s young bowling duo of Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shadab Khan took four wickets each to help Pakistan hold New Zealand on 266-9.

Young pacer Afridi conceded 46 runs in eight overs supported by magical leg-spin by Shadab who gave away just 38 runs in 10 overs with an economy of 3.80.

Earlier, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson after winning the toss decided to bat first on a pitch which initially looked perfect to bat on but they lost George Worker on just 13 runs which saw them under a little pressure.

New Zealand was having full confidence in Colin Munro after his aggressive show during the T20 series but it was Afridi’s day.

A slow off cutter delivery went onto hit Munro’s pad which saw Afridi celebrating his second consecutive wicket. Thereafter, skipper Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor carried the innings for black shirts but the introduction of Shadab created the disturbance for them once again.

A reckless shot from Williamson after scoring 27 runs, hugely cost his team and gave Shadab a moment of joy. Ross Taylor alongside new batsman Tom Latham put 130 runs together which brought smiles in the New Zealand’s camp.

At one point, New Zealand looked in a strong position to cross 300-mark but after the wicket of Tom Latham on 208 runs saw them losing wickets after regular intervals.

Shadab Khan took three wickets in 41st over which sent Tom Latham (68), Henry Nicholas (0) and Colin De Grandhomme (0) back to the dressing room.

Ross Taylor smashed 80 runs before getting bowled off Imad Wasim who finished with figures 1-38 in eight overs.


Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed [C], Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Junaid Khan.

New Zealand: George Worker, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson [C], Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Colin De Grandhomme, Trent Bolt, Lockie Ferguson.