Ajmal decries Davis’ biased decision against Akmal in India match


Pakistan’s spin maestro Saeed Ajmal believes that third umpire Steve Davis wrongly ruled Umar Akmal caught behind after Indian captain MS Dhoni went for a referral decision at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday during the highly celebrated Pakistan and India match.

“He (Steve Davis) always turned down every appeal when he was umpire and I had to go for the third umpire for referral and claim a wicket,” Ajmal said while talking to a local news channel.

Pakistan lost the high-voltage World Cup match against traditional rival India by 76 runs. The defeat added to Pakistan’s World Cup failure against nemesis India to a total number of six, in as many outings!

Pakistan was chasing a mammoth to total of 301 runs and was reduced to 102-4, when Umar came to the crease. But he returned soon back to the pavilion after he was given out off Ravindra Jadeja’s bowl when wicket-keeper M.S. Dhoni collected it and later went for a referral after on field umpire initially didn’t though it was out.

Although the replays and the sound on snickometer were not conclusive but it came to the surprise of Pakistan that third umpire Davis gave him out.

Ajmal accused Davis for taking biased decisions in the past.

“We had raised the voice for not having him as third umpire but no one paid any heed. When there was no sound properly heard on snickometer, then how can Umar be given caught behind. On such occasions and conventionally, batsman get benefit of doubt,” he said.