Aleem Dar, Michael Gough to officiate PSL 5 playoffs


Karachi: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) confirmed the match officials for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season five playoffs, scheduled to take place from November 14-17.

Pakistan’s Aleem Dar and England’s Michael Gough will take the field as on-field umpires in the final on November 17th. Ahsan Raza and Rashid Riaz will take the responsibilities of the third umpire and the fourth umpire, respectively.

Match referee Mohammad Anees, a member of PCB’s Elite Panel for Match Referees, will lead the playing control team for the much-anticipated finale.

The 52-year-old Aleem will also serve as an on-field umpire in Eliminator 1 and Eliminator 2. For Eliminator 1 between Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi, he will be joined by Shozab Raza, with Ahsan as the third umpire and Faisal Khan Afridi as the fourth umpire. In Eliminator 2, he will be joined by Gough.

Read: Aleem Dar sets world record, officiates most ODIs as on-field umpire

For Qualifier 1, Gough will be accompanied by Rashid Riaz. Asif Yaqoob and Nasir Hussain as the third and fourth umpires.

Qualifier: (Multan Sultans v Karachi Kings) – Michael Gough and Rashid Riaz (on-field umpires), Asif Yaqoob (third umpire), Nasir Hussain (fourth umpire); Mohammad Anees (match referee)

Eliminator 1: (Lahore Qalandars v Peshawar Zalmi) – Aleem Dar and Shozab Raza (on-field umpires), Ahsan Raza (third umpire), Faisal Khan Afridi (fourth umpire); Prof Javed Malik (match referee)

Eliminator 2: (Losing team Qualifier v Winning team Eliminator 1) – Aleem Dar and Michael Gough (on-field umpires), Shozab Raza (third umpire), Asif Yaqoob (fourth umpire); Mohammad Anees (match referee)

Final: (Winner Qualifier v Winner Eliminator 2) – Aleem Dar and Michael Gough (on-field umpires), Ahsan Raza (third umpire), Rashid Riaz (fourth umpire); Mohammad Anees (match referee)

Read more: Ahsan Raza becomes the first umpire to stand in 50 men’s T20Is