All you need to know about Euro 2020 ‘Round of 16’


London: The Euro 2020 have now entered the ‘Pre quarter-finals’ stage and the knock-out matches will start today.

16 teams progressed into the next round of 16 while 8 others failed and were knocked out from the competition.

Group F, also known as the Group of Death, produced a roller-coaster show on Wednesday where the heavyweights like Germany, France and Portugal were in action.

All three of them qualified for the knockouts, with Portugal securing their progression as one of the best third-placed teams.

The first fixture of the knockouts between Wales and Denmark will take in Amsterdam. Ranked No. 1 by FIFA, Belgium will face defending champions Portugal while England and Germany will lock horns at Wembley for a place in the last 8.

Group winners (Group A-F): Italy, Belgium, Netherlands, England, Sweden, France

Group runners-up (Group A-F): Wales, Denmark, Austria, Croatia, Spain, Germany

Best third-placed teams (Group A-F): Switzerland, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Portugal

Euro 2020 Round of 16 Fixtures:

  1. Wales vs Denmark  Saturday 26 June, Amsterdam)
  2. Italy vs Austria (Sunday 27 June, London)
  3. Netherlands vs Czech Republic (Sunday 27 June, Budapest)
  4. Belgium vs Portugal (Monday 28 June, Seville)
  5. Croatia vs Spain (Monday 28 June, Copenhagen)
  6. France vs Switzerland (Tuesday 29 June, Bucharest)
  7. England vs Germany (Tuesday 29 June, London)
  8. Sweden vs Ukraine (Wednesday 30 June, Glasgow)

The quarter-finals will begin on July 02 at St. Petersburg while both the semi-finals will be in London, on July 06 and 07. The final will also be held in London on July 11.