Amir dropped as PCB announce test squad against Australia


Out-of-form left-arm pacer, Mohammad Amir was dropped as the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday announced 17 members Test squad for the two-Test home series against Australia.

The selection committee headed by Inzamam-ul-Haq revealed the squad with Yasir Shah and Wahab Riaz making comeback in the national side.

Wahab Riaz last played in Test for Pakistan back in 2017 against Sri Lanka while Yasir will make his appearance after recovering from an injury.

Wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan has been called back as the 26-years-old played only one test for Pakistan.

All-rounder Bilal Asif also earned a call from selectors as the 33-years-old will be looking forward to make his debut this time around.

Inzamam said that the team was finalised after the approval of the team management and captain and few changes were made to change the results this time around.

“We have made few changes keeping in mind the conditions in the UAE,” Inzamam said.

He said that absence of their experienced batsmen Steve Smith and David Warner will impact the team, but it will be not an easy task to beat them.

“Absence of [Steve] Smith and [David] Warner would make a slight difference but still they have some good combination in the team,” he said.

Pakistan will play their first Test against Kangaroos from October 7 to 11 followed by the second five-day game from October 16 to 20.

Pakistan Squad

Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam Ul Haq, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail , Usman Salahuddin, Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain- WK), Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Bilal Asif, Muhammad Abbas, Hassan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Rizwan  (WK)