Ashfaq Hussain Shah elected as PFF president amid FIFA’s ban threats

Ashfaq Hussain Shah elected as PFF president amid FIFA's ban threat

Ashfaq Hussain Shah got elected as the new president of the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) in another controversial election, ending Faisal Saleh Hayat’s 15-year long reign on Wednesday.

The elected candidate, Ashfaq Hussain Shah, is the president of District Football Association of Peshawar.

The elections were held in the Supreme Court, where Ashfaq Hussain Shah and Anwar-ul-Haq Qureshi contested for the premium post of the PFF. Amir Salim Rana, the Director General of the Supreme Court human rights wing, supervised the elections.

Faisal Saleh Hayat’s faction boycotted the elections, while, the football governing body FIFA also threatened to ban the PFF due to the third party intervention, which is the Supreme Court, who ordered the elections.