Aus-NZ 2nd Test, Australia reclaims Trans Tasman Trophy


The hosts Australia have convincingly defeated New Zealand by 247 runs in the second Test at MCG, Melbourne and take an unassailable lead of 2-0, reclaiming the Trans Tasman trophy once again.

The Kiwis were bowled out for 240 on Day 4 while chasing a target of 488. Nathan Lyon was the pick of the Australian bowlers in the second innings, finishing with the figures of 4/81 with pacer James Pattinson, claiming three wickets, including top-rated batsmen Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor.

Opening batsman Tom Blundell who has not opened the innings ever in first-class cricket impressed the MCG crowd, scored his second Test century, reaching 121.

Earlier at the start of the play, Australia batted only 10 overs and declared their second innings on a total of 168-5. Neil Wagner again claimed three wickets and seven in a total of the match.

On Day one, Australia was put in to bat by the visitors but always were on the driving seat courtesy Travis Head 114, who was awarded as the Man of the Match for his second Test ton. Head’s inning was supported by Steve Smith and Tim Paine’s patient innings that helped them to post a big total of 467.

The visiting team was castled by the Aussie quicks in the first innings. Number one Test bowler Pat Cummins was the only bowler to pick five wickets in this match (5-28). Latham the only batsman for the Kiwis to score a half-century.

It must be noted that New Zealand have not won the Trans Tasman trophy since 1993 and have only defeated Kangaroos in Test cricket once in the past 26 years. The third Test commences from Friday, January 3rd at SCG in Sydney.