Wade, Faulkner script Australia win in first Brisbane ODI

1st ODI: Wade, Faulkner script Australia win in Brisbane
Pat Cummins (L), Mitchell Marsh and Travis Head (R) celebrate the dismissal of Mohammad Rizwan during the first ODI between Pakistan and Australia in Brisbane on January 13, 2017. (PHOTO: AFP)
Shukriya Pakistan

Brief scores:  Australia 268/9 (50 overs) v Pakistan 176/10 (42.4 overs), first ODI, Brisbane

Pakistan suffered yet another batting collapse in their 92-run loss to Australia in the first of five One-Day Internationals (ODI) in Brisbane on Friday.

It was a painful sight as none of the Pakistan batters were able to establish a 50-plus run stand.

Pakistan were well placed when they had Australia at 78-5 before Wade and Glenn Maxwell (60) put on 82 runs for the sixth wicket to push on.

Take quiz: Test your knowledge about Pakistan cricket’s history

Mohammad Amir celebrates the wicket of David Warner during the first ODI in Brisbane. (PHOTO: AFP)
Mohammad Amir celebrates the wicket of David Warner. (PHOTO: AFP)

But the tourists could not put any pressure on the Australians in their innings with skipper Azhar Ali injuring a hamstring and Babar Azam topscoring with 33.

Matthew Wade scored a last-ball 100 to lead Australia to 268 for nine off their 50 overs. James Faulkner took four wickets for 32 to help Australia dismiss Pakistan for 176 off 42.4 overs.

Read: Pakistan face direct World Cup qualification threat

Australia, after winning the toss and deciding to bat first, started their innings in a predictable aggressive style but Pakistan bowlers continued to bowl in the right areas, resulting in breakthroughs in regular intervals.

Pakistan player's celebrate the wicket of Chris Lynn. (PHOTO: AFP)
Pakistan player’s celebrate the wicket of Chris Lynn. (PHOTO: AFP)

Though a bit expensive, Hasan Ali turned out to be Pakistan’s most-successful bowler with figures 9-0-65-3.

Australia fielded two debutants in number four batsman Chris Lynn and paceman Billy Stanlake, as well as the return of all-rounder Maxwell.

Shoaib Malik had a throat infection and misses the opening game with all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez returning to the Pakistan side.



D. Warner b Amir 7

T. Head c Rizwan b Imad 39

S. Smith c Rizwan b Amir 0

C. Lynn c Rizwan b Hasan 16

M. Marsh c Rizwan b Imad 4

G. Maxwell c Hafeez b Hasan 60

M. Wade not out 100

J. Faulkner c Hafeez b Nawaz 5

P. Cummins run out (Akmal) 15

M. Starc b Hasan 10

B. Stanlake not out 1

Extras (lb1, w9, nb1) 11

Total (9 wickets, 50 overs) 268

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Warner), 2-13 (Smith), 3-52 (Lynn), 4-67 (Head), 5-78 (Marsh), 6-160 (Maxwell), 7-170 (Faulkner), 8-212 (Cummins), 9-235 (Starc)

Bowling: Amir 10-0-54-2 (3w), Hafeez 7-0-23-0 (1w), Hasan 9-0-65-3 (2w), Riaz 6-0-42-0 (1nb, 3w), Imad 10-0-35-2, Nawaz 8-0-48-1


Azhar Ali      c Warner b Faulkner    24

Sharjeel Khan c Maxwell b Faulkner    18

Mohammad Hafeez  c Wade b Faulkner     4

Babar Azam    c Smith b Cummins       33

Umar Akmal    c Head b Starc          17

Mohammad Rizwan  c Marsh b Cummins    21

Imad Wasim      c Warner b Marsh      29

Mohammad Nawaz   b Starc               1

Mohammad Amir   c Maxwell b Faulkner   8

Wahab Riaz      c Starc b Cummins      6

Hasan Ali       not out                1

Extras (b4,lb5,w5)                    14

Total (all out, 42.4 overs)          176

Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Sharjeel), 1-39 (Azhar retired hurt), 2-47 (Hafeez), 3-79 (Akmal), 4-109 (Babar), 5-129 (Rizwan), 6-133 (Nawaz), 7-158 (Imad), 8-163 (Azhar), 9-171 (Amir), 10-176 (Riaz)

Bowling: Starc 8-0-34-2 (2w), Stanlake 3-0-13-0 (1w), Faulkner 7-1-32-4, Cummins 8.4-0-33-3 (2w), Head 10-0-28-0, Marsh 6-0-27-1

Result: Australia won by 92 runs

Series:  Australia 1-0


Team Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Steve Smith (capt), Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Billy Stanlake.

Team Pakistan: Azhar Ali (capt), Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali.

Umpires: Mick Martell (AUS) and Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Third umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)