Australia clinch fifth World Cup with emphatic win

Shukriya Pakistan

MELBOURNE: Australia won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 after defeating New Zealand in the final by seven wickets here at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday, reports.

New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum won the toss and chose to take guard against Australia.

However, things did not turn how McCullum would have preferred and the team was all out on 183 runs with five of its batsmen dismissed on ducks which included the captain himself.

Only Grant Elliott and Ross Taylor provided some resistance to the Australian bowlers as they scored 83 and 40 runs respectively.

Opener Martin Guptill scored 15 runs while Tim Southee scored 11 runs for their side.

Australian bowlers Mitchell Johnson and James Faulkner took three wickets each. Mitchell Starc grabbed two wickets whereas Glenn Maxwell dismissed one batsman.

The Kangaroos chased the target with more than 15 overs to spare and eight wickets in hand.

Captain Michael Clarke ended his ODI career on a high note as he made 74  runs with the help of 10 boundaries and one six while Steven Smith scored an unbeaten 56 runs with three boundaries to his name.

David Warner made 45 runs for his team with the help of seven fours.

Kiwi bowler Matt Henry took two wickets for his side whereas Trent Boult grabbed one wicket for the team.

James Faulkner was named Man of the Match while Mitchell Starc was named the Man of the Tournament.

This is Australia’s fifth World Cup win. They first won their mega event back in 1987/1988 in the sub-continent then won their second title in 1999 at England. They won back to back World Cups in 2003 and 2007 at South Africa and West Indies respectively.