Australia thrash India in Women’s T20 World Cup final by 85 runs


Melbourne: Australia have won the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup final at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) for the record fifth time by defeating India by 85 runs.

Alyssa Healy (75 off 39) and Beth Mooney (78no off 54) pillaged 115 for the opening after being dropped on eight and nine respectively, to support Australia’s 184-4 on International Women’s Day.

Healy smashed five sixes and seven fours while Mooney, the leading run-scorer in the tournament, quickened once Healy got out in the twelfth over. Spinner Deepti Sharma was the pick of the bowlers for India, picking two for 38.

India made a horrible start to the chase, falling to 30-4 early and were bowled out for 99 in 19.1 overs as Australia made it back-to-back T20 World Cup wins, after defeating West Indies in 2018 and also taking revenge for their 17-run defeat to India in this year’s tournament opener.

Megan Schutt (4-18) and Jess Jonassen (3-20) with the ball demolished India’s batting attack. Deepti again played a great part with the bat, scoring 35 balls 33.

Healy was awarded as the player of the match whereas Mooney was awarded player of the tournament as she was the highest run-scorer of the tournament.

It must be noted that MCG witnessed a record attendance in a women’s cricket match globally. 86,174 people watched the historic Women’s T20 World Cup final.