Babar Azam, Azhar Ali applaud Pakistan U19 on win against Afghanistan


Pakistan Test skipper Azhar Ali and T20I captain Babar Azam have praised Pakistan U19 team on their win against Afghanistan in the quarter-final match in ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020.

Not just them, Pakstan senior team members also congratulated the team and wished them the best of luck for their match against India.

Number one T20I batsman Babar Azam is proud of the way boys played and also wants them to take one match at a time.

“Pakistan U19 team all the way. I am so proud of you boys for winning the quarter-final of U19 CWC. One step at a time boys, bring it home,” he wrote.

Azhar Ali also congratulated the junior team for reaching the semi-finals. “Congratulations Pakistan U-19 for reaching the semifinals of U19 World Cup, well done boys and all the best for the semis,” he wrote.

Naseem Shah, who was initially part of the U19 squad is happy with the lads and encouraged them to bring the trophy back home.

Leg-spinner Yasir Shah also sent his best wishes for the junior side.

Former Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik is happy to see the junior boys shining and are also knocking the doors of sports diplomacy.

Test opener Shan Masood congratulated the team on a great all-round display and said them to keep marching and bring the trophy back home.

Left-arm pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi who represented last time in 2018 was also delighted with the team performance against Afghanistan.

It must be noted that Pakistan U19 defeated Afghanistan where debutant Mohammad Huraira was the hero of the match. Pakistani bowling attack also dominated and restricted Afghanistan for 189 runs.

Mohammad Amir Khan was the highest wicket-taker with three wickets while Fahad Munir bagged two wickets for 29 runs. Tahir Hussain, Abbas Afridi, Aamir Ali, and Qasim Akram shared a wicket apiece.

Pakistan will now lock horns with arch-rivals India in the first semi-final of the event on February 4. The second semi-final of the event is scheduled between New Zealand and Bangladesh on February 6.