Bangladesh agrees to tour Pakistan in different phases


Karachi: The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has agreed to send their team to Pakistan in different phases, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Tuesday.

According to the revised arrangement, Bangladesh will play three T20Is in Lahore, Gaddafi Stadium from 24-27 January in the first phase.

Bangladesh will return to Pakistan for the first Test of the ICC World Test Championship to be held in Rawalpindi from February 7-11.

After the conclusion of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), Bangladesh will now visit the city of lights, Karachi to play one ODI on April 3 and second Test from 5-9 April.

PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani is happy about finally reaching an agreement and also thanked ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar on ensuring his valuable commitment to helping both the countries for the growth of cricket.

“I am pleased that we have achieved a resolution that is in the best interest of this great sport as well as both the proud cricket playing countries. I also want to thank ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar for the leadership he provided and ensured the sport continues to grow and thrive in the two countries.”

PCB Cheif Executive Wasim Khan has termed it as a winning outcome for both the boards after so much uncertainty around the series.

“It is a win-win outcome for both the boards. I am glad that the uncertainty around the series is now over and we can start planning for the smooth delivery of the matches,”

Wasim added that the split series will help the fans all over Pakistan to watch their favorite stars playing on either side.

“The split series across three venues will also provide fans and followers to watch live in action their favorite players and support good cricket from either side,”

It must be noted that initially, the series was uncertain as BCB announced that their team is available for just T20Is in Pakistan following their government’s approval but today PCB officials met with the BCB President Nazmul Hasan and CEO Nizamuddin Chaudhry in Dubai to reach a final agreement regarding the series.

Tour schedule:

24 Jan – 1st T20I, Lahore
25 Jan – 2nd T20I, Lahore
27 Jan – 3rd T20I, Lahore
7-11 Feb – 1st Test, Rawalpindi
3 Apr – One-off ODI, Karachi
5-9 Apr – 2nd Test, Karachi