Bangladesh announces squad for T20I series against Pakistan


Dhaka: The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the squad for the T20I series against Pakistan in Gaddafi Stadium at Lahore starting from January 24th.

The 15-member squad led by right-handed batsman Mahmudullah will arrive in Lahore on January 23rd and will depart on January 28th after the conclusion of the three-match T20I series.

Left-handed opening batsman Tamim Iqbal is making a comeback in international cricket after six months. He last played against Sri Lanka in July 2019.

Rubel Hossain, the right-arm pacer also picked in the squad after bagging 20 wickets from 13 games at the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). The 20-year-old right-arm pacer Hasan Mahmud, who represented Dhaka Platoon in the BPL earns his debut international call-up.

Yesterday, wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim decided to withdraw himself from the tour due to family concern.

It must be noted that Bangladesh will arrive in Pakistan again for the first Test in Rawalpindi from February 7-11.  After the conclusion of the PSL, Bangladesh will visit Karachi to play one ODI on April 3 and the second Test from 5-9 April.

Bangladesh Squad: 

Mahmudullah (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Kumer Das, MD Mithun, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud