Bangladesh opt to bat first in second England Test


DHAKA: Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and elected to bat first in the second Test against England at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Friday.

England lead the two-Test series 1-0 thanks to their 22-run win in the first Test in Chittagong, which ended on Monday.

The visitors have made two changes to their team as left-arm spinner Zafar Ansari replaces Gareth Batty, making his Test debut, while paceman Steven Finn has come in for Stuart Broad.

Bangladesh picked all-rounder Shuvagata Hom ahead of Shafiul Islam in their only change. They are playing with just one specialist fast bowler.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Shuvagata Hom, Taijul Islam and Kamrul Islam.

England: Alastair Cook (capt), Ben Duckett, Joe Root, Gary Ballance, Moeen Ali,  Jonny Bairstow,  Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Zafar Ansari, and Steven Finn.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Sundaram Ravi (IND)

TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)