Bangladesh to host Asia cup


Bangladesh will host the Asia cup cricket tournament for the third time in a row from the 24th of February till 6th of March 2016.

This was decided in a meeting held in Singapore and as Pakistan wanted the tournament to be held in Bangladesh instead of India after the unfortunate episode in India when Pakistan’s chairman Shaharyar khan and Najam Sethi went to visit India. Other members of the Asian Cricket Council also agreed to this and decided in favor of Bangladesh.

Five teams will take part in the tournament which includes the hosts Bnagladesh, Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and one associate nation. A qualifying tournament will take place by the end of November between UAE, Hong Kong, Afghanistan and Oman to decide the fifth team of Asia Cup. Afghanistan who have the services of Inzamam ul Haq as their batting coach are strong contenders to come through that qualifying round.

Sri Lanka are defending champions of Asia cup as they defeated Pakistan in the final of the 2014 edition.

In order top help teams prepare for the world cup, which begins just after the Asia cup, this edition of Asia cup will be based on the Twenty 20 format.