Bangladesh wins first T20I against Australia by 23 runs


Dhaka: Bangladesh have defeated Australia by 23 runs in the first T20I of the five-match series at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

It is Bangladesh’s first-ever T20 win over Australia, whose four wins over The Tigers came in T20 World Cups. This is the first bilateral series between the two sides. The second T20 is on Wednesday at the same venue.

The hosts restricted the Aussies to 108 while defending 132. Spinner Nasum Ahmed bagged four wickets while pacers Mustafizur Rehman and Shoriful Islam took two wickets each.

Mitchell Marsh looked compact, scoring 45 off as many balls but didn’t get the ample support from other batters. Captain Matthew Wade scored 13 off 24 while pacer Mitchell Starc made 14 towards the end.

Earlier, Pace bowler Josh Hazlewood led an inspired bowling attack as Australia kept Bangladesh down to 131 for seven.

Hazlewood returned impressive figures of 3-24 and Starc took two wickets after Australia elected to bowl first.

Bangladesh’s batsmen failed to convert their starts, including opener Mohammed Naim, who got out for 30 after hitting two fours and two sixes in his 29-ball knock.

Shakib Al Hasan, who survived two dropped chances on 18 and 23, top-scored with 36 off 33 balls before being bowled by Hazlewood in the 17th over.

Skipper Mahmudullah Riyad, who made 20, and Afif Hossain, who scored an unbeaten 23, also contributed to give the total some respect.

Australia, led by Matthew Wade, have brought in their up and coming T20 talent as they are missing key players, including Steve Smith and Aaron Finch who are both injured.