Bismah Maroof appointed as new T20I captain for Pakistan


The Pakistan Cricket Board has named all rounder Bismah Maroof, currently aged 24, as the new T20 international captain of Pakistan women’s team.

Bismah who has played 77 ODI matches and 66 T20 matches is a seasoned campaigner for the Pakistan women’s team and will take over the reins from Sana Mir who had earlier announced that she would step down as the captain of Pakistan side.

Bismah has scored 1734 runs in one day international matches with her highest score being 99 and also 1248 runs in T20 international matches. She also holds 33 and 26 wickets in ODIs and T20I matches respectively.


Pakistan’s previous T20 captain Sana Mir had earlier said that she wanted to give opportunity to someone younger to lead Pakistan in the future which is why she is stepping down as captain.

The PCB has also named a 15 member squad and three standby players for the upcoming tour of England which begins on the 15th of June.

The selected players are:

1. Javeria Wadood

2. Bibi Nahida

3. Sidra Amin

4. Bismah Maroof (Captain in T20s)

5. Muneeba Ali Siddiqui

6. Sana Mir (captain in ODIs)

7. Nida Rashid

8. Iram Javed

9. Asmavia Iqbal Khokhar

10. Anam Amin

11. Sania Iqbal

12. Sadia Yousaf

13. Aiman Anwar

14. Sidra Nawaz (Wicket Keeper)

15. Syeda Nain Fatima Abidi


1. Rabiya Shah

2. Maham Tariq

3. Ayesha Zafar