Blackcaps complete whitewash against Pakistan in the ODI series

Blackcaps complete whitewash against Pakistan in the ODI series
Babar Azam walks off in the final ODI as New Zealand players celebrate - AFP

The Blackcaps completed their whitewash against Pakistan in the five-match ODI series as they defeated Pakistan in the fifth contest by 15 runs defending a moderate target of 272.

Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first. Both team took the ground with a couple of changes in their lineups. Pakistan had three changes in the team with Umar Amin, Aamer Yamin and Mohammad Nawaz replacing Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir and Hasan Ali. On the other hand, the Kiwis rested their left-arm pacer Trent Boult for Matt Henry.

Blackcaps once again had a flying start to their inning with their openers having a fifty-run stand in just the sixth over of the inning before Colin Munro became the victim of Rumman Raees.

However, Martin Guptill continued his destructive inning in his merry way. Kane Williamson was once again looking impressive, but he was unable to make his good start count and lost his wicket to Aamer Yamin on 22 runs.

Then it was the experienced pair of Ross Taylor and Martin Guptill that dominated Pakistan’s bowling attack. The two had a century run stand before Guptill got out after scoring exactly 100 runs.

Soon after Guptill’s departure, Taylor also fell after scoring an impressive half-century. Colin de Grandhomme looked impressive once again for his 21-ball 29-run inning.

Pakistan made a strong comeback to restrict the hosts to 271 runs.

Rumman Raees took three wickets in the game for 67 runs in 10 overs. Faheem Ashraf struck twice, while Aamer Yamin took one wicket.

Pakistan once again had a disastrous start to their inning where they lost half of their side for just 57 runs. Fakhar Zaman, Umar Amin, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez and Sarfraz Ahmed scored 12, 2, 10, 6 and 3 runs respectively.

Haris Sohail and the young Shadab Khan once again came to Pakistan’s rescue and scored 105 runs together. Haris Sohail scored his second consecutive half-century and got out after scoring 63 runs. Whereas, Shadab Khan scored his second 50 of the series and fell after making 54.

The work of Haris and Shadab was carried forward by the lower order as well and they put up a fight despite of a high required run-rate of over 10 an over.

Faheem scored 23 runs off 15 deliveries and Mohammad Nawaz played a gem of an inning of 23 off 12 balls.

Aamer Yamin made the game a close one as they required 16 runs on 7 deliveries, but he ran out of partners as Rumman Raees lost his wicket while trying to play a big shot. Yamin remained unbeaten on 32 runs off 27 balls.

Matt Henry took four wickets in the game, while Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson and Colin de Grandhomme took 3, 2 and 1 wicket respectively.

Martin Guptill received the man of the match as well as man of the series award for his brilliant run in the series.

Pakistan will now face New Zealand in three-match T20i series.