Chamu Chibhabha to lead 20-member Zimbabwe squad in Pakistan


Karachi: Allrounder Chamu Chibhabha will lead Zimbabwe in their upcoming limited over series against Pakistan, starting from October 30.

The Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) announced 20 players for the ODI and T20I series. The 24-year-old Blessing Muzarabani who signed the Kolpak deal in 2018 with Northamptonshire has been included in Zimbabwe’s 20-man squad.

The Chevrons will be reaching Islamabad on October 20. They will spend a week in isolation from October 21 to 27. The squad will then practice at the Pindi cricket stadium on October 28 and 29.

Read: Zimbabwe’s inspection team satisfied with bio-secure arrangements

Both sides will launch their campaign in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, which serves as a qualification for the World Cup 2023 with the top seven sides automatically booking their spots for the event in India.

Yesterday, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) revised the schedule due to Multan’s local government asked PCB to pay PKR 20 Crore as rent to conduct the ODI series.

PCB decided to shift matches at Gaddafi Stadium. The ODIs will be played at the Pindi cricket stadium on October 30, November 1 and 3, followed by three T20Is at the Gaddafi stadium on November 7, 8 and 10. Zimbabwe will depart on November 12 for Harare.

Zimbabwe squad:

Chamu Chibhabha (c), Faraz Akram, Ryan Burl, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Sean Williams, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Richmond Mutumbami.