Cricketers get yet another good news for upcoming domestic season


Lahore: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has set a prize bag of PKR9 million for upcoming National T20 Cup First XI tournament, scheduled to start from September 30 in Multan. 

According to the PCB, the prize money will be distrubuted among the winning teams and top-performers. The champion side will recieve prize purse of PKR PKR5million followed by runners-up who will purse PKR2.5million.

Player of the tournament, best batsman of the tournament, best bowler of the tournament and best wicketkeeper of the tournament will recieve PKR100,000 each. The best performer of every match will get PKR25,000 whereas the top performer of the tournament’s finale on October 18 will be rewarded PKR35,000.

Read: Domestic season 2020-21 to start with National T20 cup as PCB announces schedule

On the other hand, the top performing domestic cricketers are already in line to earn to in a range of PKR3.2million to PKR1.8million only on the basis of their match fee and improved and enhanced monthly retainer structure, which was approved by the PCB’s Board of Governors in their 58th meeting.

Director High Performance, Nadeem Khan: “The Pakistan Cricket Board’s focus is to invest the money that it earns back in cricket by providing the players a bigger chunk of the pie through substantial and lucrative rewards so they excel in the game.

“There has been a massive improvement in the remuneration structure this year which presents better earning opportunities for the players. The PCB despite the Covid-19 pandemic has invested more in the prize money pool with the number of group matches being doubled this year. The PCB had put in great effort to make sure that the 2020-21 domestic season was organised as it was important for the livelihood of our players.

“As such, now the players not only have more competitive cricket to polish their skills and get more matches under their belt, but they also have more earning opportunities.”

Also Read: Northern bags National T20 Cup 2019 title in Faisalabad