Ehsan Mani replaces Najam Sethi as PCB chairman


Former International Cricket Council President, Ehsan Mani has been appointed as the new chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board.

The new Prime Minister of Pakistan and Patron-in-Chief, of PCB, Imran Khan announced on Monday that he has appointed Ehsan Mani as the replacement of Najam Sethi.

Ehsan Mani became the President of the ICC in June 2003. He has previously represented PCB in the ICC from 1989 to 1996.

Khan believes his vast experience will be handy for Pakistan cricket.

As per the PCB constitution, Prime Minister cannot appoint chairman PCB, though he can nominate a name in the Board of Governors. Imran Khan made it clear that he is nominating Mani, who will contest elections for the post and the BoG will decide his future. However, this procedure is likely to be just formality.

Najam Sethi gave his resignation on Monday and told that he was waiting for Imran Khan to swear-in as the Premier of the country.

“I was waiting for the new Prime Minister to take oath before submitting my resignation as PCB Chairman, which I have done today. I wish PCB all the best and hope our cricket team goes from strength to strength. Eid Mubarak. Pakistan Zindabad,” Sethi tweeted.

Najam Sethi, who was elected unanimously as the chairman PCB in 2017 for a three-year tenure, mentioned that he is resigning so that Khan can implement his vision for the prosperity of the game in the country.

“You have said on many occasions that you have a vision for Pakistan cricket. Therefore it is only proper that you should assume charge and responsibility for assembling a management team for PCB that enjoys your full confidence and trust,” he wrote.

“In order to facilitate your objectives in the interest of Pakistan cricket, I hereby submit my resignation as Chairman of PCB and as a member of its BoG,” he added.