England announces squad for Tests against Pakistan


Manchester: England have retained squad from West Indies series against three matches Test series against Pakistan, starting from August 5. 

The 15-member squad includes Joe Root (Yorkshire) Captain, James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Dominic Bess (Somerset), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Jack Leach (Somerset), Dan Lawrence (Essex) will be reserved players.

National Selector Ed Smith, said upon selection: “After three Tests in quick succession against the West Indies, we now turn to an equally condensed Test series against Pakistan, with 15 days of Test cricket scheduled in a three-week period,” he said.

“County cricket now restarts on Saturday 1st August. We want to have sufficient reserves inside the biosecure Test match ‘bubble’, but we may also want to give opportunities, where possible, for the reserves to play county cricket. As we seek the best balance here, England may make changes to the reserves during the three-match series against Pakistan,” he added.

It must be noted here that Pakistan and England will play three Tests against England in a bio-secure environment. The Test series will be followed by the T20Is series consists of as many matches.

Read: Watch: Players hit gym training hard after rain washed out tour match