England bowl against India in third Test

England bowl against India in third Test

England captain Joe Root won the toss and elected to field against India in the third Test at Trent Bridge on Saturday.

Root had confirmed on Friday that Ben Stokes would return to the team just days after his acquittal on a charge of affray on Tuesday, with the all-rounder replacing left-arm swing bowler Sam Curran in the only change to the side that thrashed India by an innings and 159 runs in the second Test at Lord’s last week.

Victory would give England an unassailable 3-0 lead in this five-match series.

India made three changes with opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan, dropped for the second Test, replacing Murali Vijay, who was twice out for nought at Lord’s.

They also gave a debut to wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant, who came in for Dinesh Karthik.

And paceman Jasprit Bumrah, fit following a broken thumb suffered in a Twenty20 international against Ireland in Dublin in June, was selected instead of left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav as India altered the balance of their attack on a ground known to assist seam bowlers.


England: Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root (capt), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow (wkt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

India: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wkt), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL), Marais Erasmus (RSA)

TV umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)