England opts to bowl first against Australia


MELBOURNE: England won the toss and elected to bowl first in their ICC World Cup match against Australia here at Melbourne on Saturday, ARY Sports reports.

The co-hosts have beaten England four out of six times in World Cups before and will be heading into the match with confident frame of mind after clean-sweeping the English side in the Ashes series.

Australia XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steven Smith, George Bailey (capt), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood.

England XI: Moeen Ali, Ian Bell, Gary Ballance, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), James Taylor, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson and Steven Finn.