English players withdraw from remaining IPL 2021


MANCHESTER: England’s players Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, and Chris Woakes have withdrawn from the remaining Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021, starting on September 19 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). 

According to the details, the decision to withdraw from IPL by English players came after the Old Trafford Test was canceled due to COVID-19 fear in the Indian camp. The cancelation of the Test cost a huge loss of £31 million to the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

Earlier, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, and Jofra Archer already withdrew from the remaining Indian franchise cricket league.

It must be noted here that England is scheduled to tour Pakistan for playing two T20Is on October 13 and 14 before the T20 World Cup.

The T20 World Cup will start on October 17 with qualifiers followed by the Super 12 contest from October 23.

READ: ‘INDvsENG last Test canceled due to IPL’ believes Michael Vaughan