Facts about Champions Trophy 2017


The ICC Champions Trophy is a multi-nation tournament which features the top one-day cricket teams of the world battling it out for the coveted title. The Champions Trophy is the second biggest limited overs tournament organised by ICC after the 50-over World Cup. The Champions Trophy is a limited overs tournament played out in the 50 over format. The tournament is hailed as the “Mini World cup” in the international cricketing circles.

This will be the eighth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, so far six different nations have won the event with India and Australia the only sides to win the more than once (both twice).

England, Bangladesh and Pakistan are the only sides competing this year that have not won the tournament in the past, England have twice finished as runners-up, the other two sides have never reached the final.

India have a 71% win rate in the Champions Trophy, the best of any side, this despite making it out of the group stage just once in their last four attempts.

No side has made it out of the group stage in each edition of the tournament, of the eight nations to play in all seven previous editions Australia have the best strike rate of making it to the knock out stage (6/7 times).

Sri Lanka are the only side to ever win the tournament as host, although their victory was a shared victory with India in 2002 after the rain washed out two attempted finals.

Chris Gayle is the leading run scorer in Champions Trophy history, scoring 791 runs in 17 innings in the competition, however West Indies have not qualified for the 2017 event.

Kyle Mills is the leading wicket taker in the tournament’s history, taking 28 scalps in 15 matches for the Black Caps.

The highest match aggregate score (636) also came in 2013 as South Africa (305) fell short of reaching India’s score of 331 by 26 runs in the group stage.

2013 also saw the only tied match in the tournament’s history (South Africa v West Indies), three games have been won on the last ball of the second innings however (by the chasing team).