Fakhar Zaman’s run out: De Kock blamed for ‘fake fielding’

0
5058

Johannesburg: South Africa’s wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock was blamed for ‘fake fielding’ during Fakhar Zaman’s run out in the second ODI at Wanderers.

On the first ball of the last over of the match, Fakhar turned back for a second, slowing up as he ran, apparently thinking the ball was headed to the other end after De Kock deliberately convinced Fakhar that he was safe by pointing towards the non-striker’s end.

In the process, Fakhar turned around and looked back to his partner, however, the ball hit the stumps at the Fakhar’s end while he was short of his crease. The act caused havoc on social media, terming De Kock as guilty of ‘fake fielding’.

Here are the few laws that second this act against the rules. ‘Law 41.5: Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman’

41.5.1 In addition to 41.4, it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.

41.5.2 It is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is wilful or not.

41.5.3 If either umpire considers that a fielder has caused or attempted to cause such a distraction, deception or obstruction, he/she shall immediately call and signal Dead ball and inform the other umpire of the reason for the call.

41.5.4 Neither batsman shall be dismissed from that delivery.

https://twitter.com/SRutherford50/status/1378746158378594304

It must be noted that Fakhar played a brilliant knock of 193 runs in the second South Africa-Pakistan ODI. Green Shirts (324/9) were only 17 runs short of South Africa’s 341.

Read: Fakhar’s heroics in vain as South Africa beat Pakistan in second ODI

Comments

comments