Fawad Alam to lead Pakistan ‘A’ for Sri Lanka tour

Shukriya Pakistan

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the squad of Pakistan ‘A’ for the month-long tour of Sri Lanka scheduled to be played during April-May 2015, ARY News has learnt.

Chairman PCB Shaharyar M. Khan has approved Pakistan ‘A’ 16-member apiece four-day and one-day squads recommended by the four-member selection committee headed by Haroon Rashid.

Fawad Alam and Umar Amin shall be captain and vice-captain of Pakistan ‘A’ squad in both formats.

The Chairman PCB also acceded to the selection committee’s suggestion that no replacement be announced for the injured Sohaib Maqsood in Pakistan’s T20I squad for the Bangladesh tour.

“Since the team is scheduled to play only one T20 match on the tour, it is felt that 14 members are enough for the desired purpose”, said chief selector Haroon Rashid.

With regard to the selection of the ‘A’, Haroon Rashid said: “After having detailed deliberations on the post-World Cup scenario, it was decided by the selectors to formulate a long term selection strategy to raise a back-up pool to compliment the senior team on an as-and-when-required basis.

“In this perspective, tours of junior teams are of paramount important. This tour of Sri Lanka is the first step in this direction, he added.

Squad for 4-day Matches:

Shaan Masood, Khurram Manzoor, Umar Siddiq, Umar Amin (vice-captain), Ali Waqas, Usman Salahuddin, Ali Asad, Immad Wasim, Fawad Alam (captain), Zafar Gohar, Shahzaib Ahmed, Adnan Akmal (wicket-keeper), Mir Hamza, Bilawal Bhatti, Shehzad Azam, Imran Khan.

Zia-ul-Haq, Saad Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Naeemuddin.

Squad for One-day Squad:

Khurram Manzoor, Umer Siddiq, Mukhtar Ahmed, Umar Amin (vice-captain), Fawad Alam (captain), Ali Waqas, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Israrullah, Immad Wasim, Zafar Gohar, Shahzaib Ahmed, Mir Hamza, Bilawal Bhatti, Ehsan Adil, Tabish Khan.

The tour contains three one-dayers and as many four-day games.


April 23: Arrival in SL
April 26: 1st One-day Match at Matara
April 29: 2nd One-day Match at Hambantota
May 2: 3rd One-day Match at Colombo
May 6-9: 1st Four day Match at Kandy
May 13-16: 2nd Four day Match at Kurunegala
May 20-23: 3rd Four day Match at Dambulla
May 24: Departure for back home