First-ever Women’s Hockey Championship kicks off Sept 7


LAHORE: The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has announced to hold the first-ever five-a-side Women’s Hockey Championship from September 7 to 10 at National Hockey Stadium Lahore. 

According to the PHF, the event will be organized to provide an opportunity for female hockey players to showcase themselves. The event will feature eight teams, four provincial and as many departmental teams.

The list of participating teams includes Punjab, KPK, Sindh, Balochistan, Islamabad, Pakistan Army, WAPDA, Railways, and Higher Education. A player above 25 years will not be able to participate in the tournament as per PHF’s guidlines. All teams have to show the proper identification of all of their players.

A team can contain up to nine players and two officials.

READ: Pakistan qualifies for Junior Hockey World Cup