Gul returns, while Sami Aslam, Hasan Ali also make way to the ODI squad


KARACHI: Pakistan has announced 15-men squad for the ODI series against Ireland and England that will be played later this month in England.

Pakistan’s right-arm fast bowler, Umar Gul is back in the ranks after almost two years, he played his last 50-over game against India in the 2014 Asia Cup. He has been a key element of Pakistan’s T20 squad before suffering an injury and getting dropped.

Sharjeel Khan has also got reward for his prime form that he exhibited in the World T20 and against England Lions and Sri Lanka ‘A’ on English shores. He scored 90 and 125 runs against Sri Lanka ‘A’ and England Lions in difficult conditions.

On the other hand, Sami Aslam has also been named in the ODI squad for his wonderful exhibition of technique and strong nerves in the third test against England. He scored back to back half-centuries in the game.

Babar Azam, who captained Pakistan ‘A’ squad in England will also be a part of Pakistan team against England and Ireland along with Hasan Ali, who was the most successful bowler in the tri-series.

Inzamam Ul Haq communicated that the skipper and team management was consulted during the selection, “While picking the squad, the team management and skipper were consulted and all concerned gave their consent in this regard. The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in domestic and A Team tours.”

He further claimed that the team has a nice mixture of experienced players and new blood, “The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well.”

Pakistan will play two ODIs against Ireland on 18th and 20th August, whereas, the first match of the five-match ODI series against the hosts will be played on August 24.

Pakistan squad
Azhar Ali (c), Sarfraz Ahmed, Sharjeel Khan, Sami Aslam, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam,Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Rizwan, Immad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Hasan Ali,