Haris gains his form, Balochistan wins third match in Pakistan Cup


Karachi: Haris Sohail scored 109 runs off 99 balls to help Balochistan beat Central Punjab (CP) by six wickets and secure the third match in Pakistan Cup. 

Last ranked Balochistan were set to chase 297 runs in a must-win game. Bismillah Khan provided a quick start to Balochistan by scoring 75 runs alongside Abdul Wahid Bangalzai. Bismillah scored 73 runs off 60 balls with the help of seven boundaries and a six.

Haris then took charge for Balochistan and steered them to a convincing six-wickets victory. He struck five boundaries and as many sixes during his stay at the crease. Akbar-ur-Rehman made 38 runs laced with two boundaries and a six.

For CP, Raza Ali Dar, Mohammad Ali, and Usman Qadir bagged a wicket each.

Earlier, young Qasim Akram smashed his maiden List-A hundred to help CP score 296-8 in 50 overs. He struck 14 boundaries and a six.

Tayyab Tahir scored 42 runs while Zafar Gohar contributed 48 runs. Jalat Khan took two wickets for Balochistan.

Meanwhile, Danish Aziz took four scalps to push Sindh to defeat Northern by 13 runs and retain dominancy at the points table.

Set to chase 278 runs, Northern were bowled out for 264 runs. Hammad Azam fought hard and scored 70 runs.

Sindh, while batting first, scored 277 runs for the loss of six wickets. Khurram Manzoor scored his 26th List-A century, equaling the record of Saeed Anwar for most centuries in the 50-overs format domestic tournament.

Musa Khan took two wickets for Northern.

On the other hand, Southern Punjab (SP) beat Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) by five wickets to gain the second position at the points table.

KPK posted 244-10 while batting first in their eighth match. Khalid Usman scored the highest 56 runs with the help of seven boundaries and two sixes.

Mohammad Abbas bagged four wickets for SP.

Shan Masood (91) and Mukhtar Ahmed (36) provided a 73-runs opening partnership to lay down a solid foundation in run-chase. Khushdil Shah smashed 71 runs off six boundaries and two sixes.

Mohammad Imran, Asif Afridi, Khalid Usman, and Iftikhar Ahmed took a wicket each.

Read: Centurian Danish Aziz guides Sindh to fifth win in Pakistan Cup