ICC announces World Cup warm-ups’ schedule and venues’ details


A total of 14 warm-up matches will be played from February 8 to 13 in Adelaide, Christchurch, Melbourne and Sydney.

Venues include Adelaide Oval, Hagley Oval in Christchurch, the Sydney Cricket Ground and the Melbourne Cricket Ground, all of which are hosting matches in the tournament proper.

Warm up matches will also be played at non-tournament venues, which are Blacktown’s International Sports Park in Sydney’s western suburbs, Junction Oval in Melbourne and Lincoln Oval outside Christchurch.

“The public will be welcome to attend warm up matches which will be ticketed but free of charge,” an ICC media release said.

The warm-ups are not official ODIs but are designed to allow teams the chance to prepare for the World Cup. They operate under slightly different rules with up to 15 players able to be used throughout the game. The range of activities and spectator experiences in and around warm up venues will in most cases be less than what is provided during the World Cup itself.

Warm-up Schedule (local time):

8 February: Australia v India, 2pm, Adelaide Oval.

9 February: South Africa v Sri Lanka, 11am, Hagley Oval.

9 February: New Zealand v Zimbabwe, 11am Lincoln Oval.

9 February: England v West Indies, 2.30pm Sydney Cricket Ground.

9 February: Pakistan v Bangladesh, 2.30pm Blacktown.

10 February: India v Afghanistan, 2pm, Adelaide Oval.

10 February: Ireland v Scotland, 2.30pm, Blacktown.

11 February: South Africa v New Zealand, 11am, Hagley Oval.

11 February: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, 11am, Lincoln Oval.

11 February: Australia v United Arab Emirates, 2.30pm, MCG.

11 February: England v Pakistan, 2.30pm, SCG.

12 February: West Indies v Scotland, 9.30am, SCG.

12 February: Bangladesh v Ireland, 9.30am, Blacktown.

13 February: Afghanistan v United Arab Emirates, 10am, Junction Oval.