ICC introduces ‘Player of the Month’ awards


Karachi: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the introduction of the ‘ICC Player of the Month’ awards to recognise and celebrate the best performances of both male and female cricketers across all forms of international cricket throughout the year.

Cricket’s governing body in its media release stated that an independent ICC Voting Academy comprising former players, broadcasters, and journalists from around the world, will team up with fans to vote for the ICC men’s and women’s player of the month respectively.

ICC appreciated and highlighted the performances of India’s Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, T. Natarajan, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, England’s Joe Root, Afghanistan’s Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Australia’s Steve Smith among players.

Read: Stokes takes a dig at Test Team of the Decade cap

Among women, Pakistan’s Nida Dar and South Africa’s Marizanne Kapp and Nadine de Klerk were highlighted.

Meanwhile, the three nominees for each of the categories will be determined by the ICC Awards Nominations Committee based on on-field performances and overall achievements during the period of that month (the first to the last day of each calendar month.)

The Voting Academy will have a share of 90% of the vote while fans will have a 10% share of the vote. The winners will be announced every second Monday of the month on the ICC’s digital channels.

Read more: No Pakistani in ‘ICC Teams of the Decade’