ICC name commentary panel for World Cup 2019


The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced 24-member commentary team for the upcoming World Cup, scheduled from May 30 to July 14 in England and Wales.

The commentary team includes Nasser Hussain (England), Michael Atherton (England), Mark Nicholas (England), Alison Mitchell (England), Isa Guha (England), Ian Ward (England), Michael Holding (West Indies), Ian Bishop (West Indies), Michael Clarke (Australia), Melanie Jones (Australia), Michael Slater (Australia), Sourav Ganguly (India), Sanjay Manjrekar (India), Harsha Bhogle (India), Ramiz Raja (Pakistan), Wasim Akram (Pakistan), Shaun Pollock (South Africa), Graeme Smith (South Africa), Kumar  Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Simon Doull (New Zealand), Ian Smith (New Zealand), Pommie Mbangwa (Zimbabwe), Athar Ali Khan (Bangladesh).

Former cricketers Ramiz Raja and Wasim Akram will represent Pakistan with their commentary in the biggest multi-nation tournament.

It is pertinent to mention here that 10 teams will take part in the marquee event. All teams will play each other once and top four teams will advance to the knock-out stage.

All 10 nations have finalized their squads for the extravaganza and can make changes to their squad by or before May 23. The opener of the event will be played between hosts England and South Africa.