PCB includes ICC elite umpires in PSL 5 umpiring panel


Lahore: England’s Richard Illingworth and Michael Gough along with Sri Lanka Ranmore Martinesz are included in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season five edition starting from February 20.

Illingworth will start with Faisal Khan Afridi as an on-field umpire for the PSL 2020 opening match between defending champions Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United at the National Stadium on 20 February.

Sri Lanka’s Roshan Mahanama will lead the playing control team for the curtain-raiser that will also include Asif Yaqoob as the third umpire and Syed Imtiaz Iqbal as the fourth umpire.

Martinesz will be in action in the third match at the Gaddafi Stadium between Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans, while Michael Gough’s first of nine matches will also be at the Gaddafi Stadium on 6 March in the match between Karachi Kings and Multan Sultans.

Pakistan pride and three-time ICC Umpire of the Year, Aleem Dar is scheduled to umpire in 10, 11 and 15 March matches at the Gaddafi Stadium.

Aslam Bareach, Majid Hussain, Nasir Hussain, Saqib Khan, and Syed Imtiaz Iqbal, who will perform fourth umpire responsibilities are five new faces included for the upcoming edition.

Besides Roshan Mahanama, Javed Malik, Mohammad Anees, and Aziz-ur-Rehman will be the match referees. Appointments for the Qualifier, two Eliminators, and 22 March final will be announced during the tournament.