Imran lead Rawalakot Hawks to one-run victory over Muzaffarabad Tigers


MUZAFFARABAD: Mohammad Imran Randhawa’s all-round performance led Rawalakot Hawks to second consecutive victory in the Kashmir Premier League (KPL). 

Randhawa picked up the last two wickets to hand the Hawks a nail-biting one-run victory over Muzaffarabad Tigers in the seventh match of the league.

Earlier, Randhawa performed with the bat and scored 40 runs off 23 balls with the help of two boundaries and three sixes to help his team post 175-7 in 20 overs.

Shahid Afridi-led Hawks suffered three back-to-back wickets with Mohammad Wasim Jr taking a maiden hat-trick of the event. They were 9-3 in 1.3 overs.

But, Ahmed Shahzad and Hussain Talat stood firm and added 75 runs for the fourth wicket. Ahmed scored 50 runs off 33 balls with the help of nine boundaries whereas Hussain made an unbeaten 69 laced with six boundaries and three maximums.

Wasim bagged three wickets, Arshad Iqbal took two while Mohammad Hafeez bagged a wicket for the Tigers.

In reply, the home side lost opener Inzamam-ul-Haq earlier but Zeeshan Ashraf carried the inning from there, after surviving on a no-ball. He scored 38 runs off 20 balls with the help of four boundaries and three sixes. Sohaib Maqsood scored 22 before Hafeez utilized his experience to score 44 off 31 including three boundaries and a six.

Hawks made comeback in the last overs with Randhawa bagging Sohail Tanvir on the last ball to win the match for his team by just a run.

Zaman Khan took the highest three wickets for the Hawks followed by Randhawa and Asif Afridi taking two wickets each. Skipper Afridi managed to get one wicket.

READ: PCB announces schedule of 2021-22 domestic season