India bat first against West Indies in first Test

India bat first against West Indies in first Test

India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first against West Indies in the opening Test in Rajkot on Thursday.

Teenage opener Prithvi Shaw will make his international debut after receiving his Test cap from Kohli. The 18-year-old was already named in the final 12 on the eve of the game.

The world number one Test side have gone in with three spinners and two pace bowlers in the first of the two Tests.

“There’s a bit of grass that holds up the surface. It’s very warm and humid here so the best time to bat will be first,” said Kohli.

“(Let’s) see what Shaw can do at the top,” he added.

“It’s all about giving them this particular phase. Give them some confidence before the start of the series against Australia.”

West Indies are missing their regular skipper Jason Holder due to an ankle injury, Kraigg Brathwaite deputising as captain.

Batsman Sunil Ambris and debutant fast bowler Sherman Lewis have been included in the XI. Ambris has been rewarded for his unbeaten 114 in the team’s only tour game in India.

“I would have had a bat first as well. Using the new ball is the key for us. Got to be aggressive and enjoy the game,” stand-in-skipper Brathwaite said.

“I think the guys are looking forward to this,” he added.


India: Virat Kohli (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav

West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shane Dowrich, Keemo Paul, Devendra Bishoo, Sherman Lewis, Shannon Gabriel

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)