India elects to bat against Pakistan


ADELAIDE: Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has won the toss and opted to bat first in their high voltage World Cup match against Pakistan here at Adelaide Oval on Sunday, ARY Sports reports.

The Indian captain has opted to play with two spinners and three pacers.

Veteran Pakistan batsman Younus Khan will be opening the batting alongside Ahmed Shehzad for the green shirts as Nasir Jamshed has been dropped from the side. Yasir Shah has been included in the playing XI as the second spinner.

Umar Akmal is playing as the wicket-keeper batsman for Pakistan as Sarfaraz Ahmed has not been selected to play in the key match.

The pitch is dry and lots of runs are expected to be scored in the match today.

Pakistan XI: Ahmed Shehzad, Younis Khan, Haris Sohail, Misbah-ul-Haq, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Sohail Khan and Mohammad Irfan.

India XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami.