India opt to bat first in 5th New Zealand ODI

Shukriya Pakistan

Visakhapatnam: India’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat in the fifth and final one-day international against New Zealand in Visakhapatnam on Saturday.

With the series tied at 2-2, the hosts have made two changes to their starting lineup from their previous loss in Ranchi on Wednesday.

Debutant off-spinner Jayant Yadav and medium-pacer Jasprit Bumrah will replace Dhawal Kulkarni and Hardik Pandya.

The Kane Williamson-led New Zealand, who are eyeing their first ODI series victory in India, have made just one change with batsman Corey Anderson replacing Anton Devcich.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Jasprit Bumrah, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Umpires: CK Nandan (IND) and Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

TV umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)

Reserve umpire: Nitin Menon (IND)