India win toss and bat against Sri Lanka


India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat as he sought a series sweep over Sri Lanka in the third and final Test in Pallekele on Saturday.

The visitors, who took an unassailable 2-0 lead in Colombo, brought in left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav in place of suspended allrounder Ravindra Jadeja.

“We just want to get most advantage of the best batting conditions,” Kohli said at the toss at the Pallekele International Stadium.

“We expect resilience at the Test level. We are certainly not living in any denial,” Kohli said of Sri Lanka’s fightback in the previous game before India won by an innings.

Injury-hit Sri Lanka have made three changes to their starting lineup as skipper Dinesh Chandimal is confident of pulling one back against the tourists.

Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Kumara come in place of Rangana Herath, Nuwan Pradeep and Dhananjaya de Silva.

“As a young unit, we want to win a game and keep the spirit going. Looking forward for that,” said Chandimal.


Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Dilruwan Perera, Malinda Pushpakumara, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Kumara

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)