‘IPL T20 Team of the Decade’ Rashid Latif trolls ICC


Karachi: Former wicketkeeper-batsman Rashid Latif has taken a dig at the International Cricket Council (ICC) after cricket’s governing body announced the Men’s T20I Team of the Decade earlier today.

The Men’s T20I side of the decade has players from six countries and according to Ex-captain, ICC did a typo mistake and labeled the teams as the Indian Premier League (IPL) team of the decade.

“TYPO Error {They forget to write IPL-T20s team for the decade},” tweets Rashid Latif.

Former speedster Shoaib Akhtar also second Rashid on Twitter and wrote: “as expected”.

Meanwhile, former Australian pacer Jason Gillespie thinks that Pakistan captain Babar Azam and England’s explosive wicketkeeper-batsman should have been named in the T20I side of the decade.

“And I do find it hard to understand that a T20I team of the decade doesn’t include Jos Buttler or Babar Azam,” he tweeted.


He was also unimpressed with the selection of the side as there are only three bowlers in the side.

“Do not agree with selecting only 3 frontline bowlers. Meant to be T20I TEAM of the decade as opposed to a popularity contest ICC,” he wrote in another tweet.


It must be noted that ICC also announced Test and ODI teams of the decade. No player from Pakistan has been named in each of these teams.

The sides are picked by the ICC’s Voting Academy of journalists and broadcasters. The XI has been selected based on performances from January 1, 2011, and October 7, 2020.

Read: No Pakistani in ‘ICC Teams of the Decade’