Irfan to lead Pakistan squad for the Asian Hockey Championship

Shukriya Pakistan

Lahore: The Pakistan National Hockey team has been announced for the Asian Champions Trophy with Muhammad Irfan as the captain.

Pakistan will be playing its opening match with Malaysia followed by India-Pakistan match to be played on October 23. Muhammad Dilbar has been nominated as captain for U-21 team for Sultan of Johor Cup. Both the team coaches are looking forward to demonstrate excellent performance in the forthcoming events.

According to details Pakistan’s senior and junior teams are facing the challenge of performance in the international events scheduled this month in Malaysia. To come up to the public expectations, PHF selection committee has been watching the player’s performance and fitness closely and has announced both the squads. The selection of players was done after the schedule 3 practice match series held at Johar Town hockey stadium Lahore. The trials were supervised by the head of selection committee Rasheed jr and other selectors Farhat Khan, Wasim Feroze and Qasim Khan.

Players announced to be part of the National senior team are Imran Butt, Amjad Ali (Goalkeepers) Aleem Bilal, Muhammad Irfan (Captain) Ammad Shakeel Butt (Defenders) Rashid Mahmood, Tasawar Abbas, Nawaz Ashfaq, Farid Ahmad, Tausiq Arshad, Muhammad Rizwan (Halfbacks) Muhammad Irfan jr, Umar Bhutta, Arslan Qadir, Ali Shan, Ejaz Ahmad, Muhammad Rizwan Sr and Abdul Haseem Khan as forwards.

Hanif Khan will be the team manager, Junaid Khan as head coach, Ahmad Alam assistant coach and Nadeem Lodhi as video analyst who would be leaving for Malaysia. It may be noted that the fourth Asian Champions Trophy will be held in Kuantan, Malaysia from 20 to 30 October 2016. The countries taking part in this event are India, Oman, Pakistan, China, Malaysia and Japan.

The team for the U-19 Sultan of Johor Cup to be played in Malaysia has also been announced. PHF has selected the following players: Ali Raza, Talal Khalid (Goalkeepers) Atif Mushtaq, Hassan Anwar, Mubashir Ali (Fullbacks) Ammad Shakeel Butt, Abu Bakr Mahmood, Faizan, Junaid Kamal, Tazeem ul Hassan (Halfbacks) Forwards include Shan Irshad , Azfar Yaqoob, Muhammad Dibar (Captain) Muhammad Atiq, Bilal Qadir, Mohsin Sabir, Rana Sohail Riaz, Sami Ullah, Muhammad Rizwan and Umar Hamdi. Brig (R) Mukhtar Farani will be the team manager, Tahir Zaman head coach, Zeeshan Ashraf and Muhammad Irfan as assistant coaches.

The Sultan of Johor Cup will be played in Johor Baru , Malaysia starting from 31 October till November 6. Countries participating in the event are Pakistan, Japan, New Zealand, Australia and Malaysia. The team coaches are optimistic and hoping to show wonderful performance in the events.

Pakistan’s senior hockey team head coach Kh.Junaid said the selected team has the best players and they will enter the field not only to defeat India but are determined to take on any team during the event. Pakistan junior hockey team chief coach Tahir Zaman said that the world’s best teams participate in the Sultan of Johor Cup but our team’s morale is high and they are determined to show excellent performance in all the events.