Kapil Dev, Sidhu accept Imran Khan’s invitation for oath-taking ceremony

Kapil Dev Navjot Singh Sidhu Imran Khan Oath taking

India’s former World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev and batsman Navjot Singh Sidhu have accepted the invitation for Imran Khan’s oath-taking ceremony as the Prime Minister, which is to take place on August 18th.

Whereas, India’s batting maestro Sunil Gavaskar will not attend the ceremony due to his commentary commitments for the ongoing India’s series against England on the English soil.

Imran Khan’s party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, emerged as the single majority party during General Elections 2018. Indian counterparts of Pakistan’s 1992 World Cup winning captain congratulated him on winning the polls and hoped that he will lead the country in similar fashion he led the national side to glory.

The three cricketers were formally invited via emails, two of those legendary cricketers, Kapil Dev and Navjot Singh Sidhu have accepted the invitations and are ready to travel to Pakistan to attend the ceremony.

Earlier, Sidhu, who himself is a minister in India, had said that it was an honour to accept the invitation and praised Khan’s leadership qualities.

“It is (a) great honour, I accept the invitation. Men of genius are admired, men of power are feared, but men of character are trusted. Khan Sahab is a man of character. He can be trusted. Sportsmen build bridges, break barriers, unite people,” Sidhu stated.

“He brings people together, the same way he’s brought the Pakistani society together. He’s also got that passion, look at the wonders an extraordinary captain like him did to an ordinary Pakistan team back in 1992,” he further stated.

The oath-taking ceremony will also be attended by Pakistan’s 1992 World Cup winning squad, who played under Imran Khan’s captaincy.

He will take oath from Pakistan’s president Mamnoon Hussain at the President House.