Karachi to host National Women’s Football Championship from March 8


Karachi: National Women’s Football Championship is all set to take place from March 8 to April 3 in Karachi, the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) announced.

As many as 20 teams from across the country will feature in this edition of the competition while 59 matches will be played.

The teams are divided into four group of five while for the first time in the history of the competition, a Development Stage will be held parallel to the knockout stages, which will see teams dropping out from the Group Stage take on each other in a small knockout competition.

On the other hand, the top two teams from each of the four groups will play a conventional Knockout Stage, the winner of which will be declared the NWFC champion.

Read more: ‘Have set high standards for football in Pakistan’ Techincal Director – PFF

PFF Normalisation Committee Chairman Mr. Haroon Malik said: “The National Women’s Football Championship is set to kick off and I’m extremely delighted. Pakistan Football Federation’s primary aim is to provide development opportunities to players, the MOST important part of the football eco system. The plan to have a Development Stage resonates with our values, which are directed towards providing players ever greater opportunities to play and to succeed in football.”

The draws for the NWFC were held on Wednesday.

Groups – National Women’s Football Championship

Group A: Wapda, Gilgit WFC, Hazara Girls FA, Hazara Quetta FA, Model Town WFC

Group B: Karachi United, Karachi WFC, Masha United FC, HEC, Sialkot City WFC

Group C: Pakistan Army, JAFA Soccer Academy, Riaz Kamil FC, Young Rising Stars Layyah

Group D: Diya WFC, Mohsen Gilani WFC, MUK FC, Nawanshehr United FA, Highlanders FC

Read: WAPDA crowned champions of 2020 National Challenge Cup