Karachi Kings to start PSL 4 campaign playing Sixth Team


The popular franchise of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), Karachi Kings will start their campaign in upcoming season taking The Sixth Team as the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday released the full schedule of the fourth edition of the league.

The tournament to kick off with defending champions Islamabad United locking horns with luckless Lahore Qalandars on February 14.

The eight matches out of 32 will take place in Pakistan out of which five to be hosted by Karachi and rest of the three will be played at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore.

Karachi’s National Stadium will the first match out of eight matches to take place in Pakistan when Karachi Kings will take on Peshawar Zalmi. The city of lights will then host the matches between Karachi Kings and Quetta Gladiators on March 10, Qualifier 1 and Qualifier 2 on March 13, Eliminator 2 on March 15 and the Grand Finale will also take place in front of the die heart cricket fans of the largest city of Pakistan.

The other three matches will take place at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. Lahore Qalandars will face Islamabad United on March 9, Lahore Qalandars to face the Sixth team on March 10 and Eliminator 1 on March  12.

Apart from Karachi and Lahore, Dubai International Stadium will host 14 matches while  Sheikh Zayed Stadium and Sharjah Cricket Stadium to stage four and eight matches respectively.

According to the event format released by the PCB, each side will play the other twice with the top-four after 30 event matches advancing to the playoffs.

It is pertinent to mention here that in a bid to make PSL bigger and better, the PCB have signed some more superstars from around the world including Mr 360 AB De Villiers, Steven Smith, Brendon Taylor, Corey Anderson and Colin Munro who are set to make their debut in the upcoming season.

The international stars expressed their excitement to become a part of PSL through a video message and ensured Pakistani fans for more thrill and entertainment this time around.

AB De Villiers and Brendon Taylor will play for Lahore Qalandars, Colin Munro is a part of Karachi Kings and the Sixth Team will have the likes of Steven Smith.

The PCB is hopeful to take their only league onto the next level and try to provide ample facilities to the crazy cricket fans during the league’s matches in Pakistan.