Khyber Pakhtunkhwa truimphs Punjab to win the first ever Pakistan Cup


Khyber Pakhtunkhwa won the first ever Pakistan Cup by crushing Punjab in the final. KPK simply outclassed Punjab in all aspects of the game, batting first; they posted 311/9 on the board and restricted Punjab cheaply on just 160. They won the final by a huge margin of 151 runs.

Younis Khan returned to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and held the captaincy band once again. Winning the toss, Younis Khan elected to bat first. The opening in-form pair of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa shone once again. Ahmad Shahzad played an aggressive innings of 65 runs on merely 45 balls. He lost his wicket on a total of 118 runs.

Capture zohaib

On the other hand, Fakhar Zaman, who was constantly getting good scores, but, was unable to convert those efforts into three figures. The 26-year old Fakhar showed commitment in the big game and went on to score a century. He was removed by Ehsan Adil after scoring 115 off 111 balls.

Younis Khan played a fine innings of 49 runs and Fahim Ashraf contributed handy 31 runs. Rest of the KPK batsmen lost their wicket in quick succession as they tried to capitalize the solid platform and threw their wickets while trying to score quickly.

The young sensation, Amad Butt remained the best bowler for Punjab, he took three wickets in his quota of 10 overs, giving away 55 runs.

Salman Butt continued his poor run with the bat for Punjab; he was trapped in front of the wicket by Zia Ul Haq without scoring. Aamer Yamin also failed to put up an impressive show as he had a long walk to the dressing room after taking just a single.

Shan Masood had a decent time in the middle for his 36 runs. His departure put Punjab in a miserable position of 55/4 in 12.4 overs. The skipper Shoaib Malik tried to do some rebuild work with Mohammad Rizwan, the two had a partnership of 42 runs. Malik fell at a total of 97 runs, scoring 22 off 23 balls, whereas, Rizwan followed his skipper to the dressing room just after three overs. He scored 22 runs on 33 balls.

Zulfiqar Babar and Kashif Bhatti showed some resistance for the eighth wicket, the tailenders contributed 36 runs together. Babar once again frustrated the opposition with his batting; he put 29 runs on the board.

Yasir Shah and Zohaib Khan dented the Punjab batting line by taking three wickets apiece, conceding 26 and 23 runs in 8.1 and 5 overs respectively.

Fakhar Zaman received the Man of the Match award in the big match for his wonderful innings of 115 runs.

Please follow and like us: