Kumar Sangakkara named as the first non-British MCC President

Kumar Sangakkara named as the first non-British MCC President

Sri Lanka’s batting legend, Kumar Sangakkara has been announced as the first non-British President of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) and will take the charge from October 1, 2019.

His nomination was announced by the reigning MCC President Anthony Wreford, at the MCC Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 1st May 2019, held at Lord’s.

Sangakkara received the honourary Life Membership of the Club in 2012, one year later after he delivered an impactful MCC Spirit of Cricket Cowdrey Lecture.

He also joined MCC’s World Cricket committee and has been an active member of the committee since 2012.

At this auspicious occasion of being named as the new President of the prestigious club, the former Sri Lankan captain said that he is looking forward to this role.

“It is a huge honour to be named the next President of MCC and it is a role that I am thoroughly looking forward to. For me, MCC is the greatest cricket club in the world, with its global reach and continued progress for cricket on and off the pitch. The year 2020 is going to be yet another significant one in cricket, especially at Lord’s, and I am thrilled that I am going to be able to play a part in supporting its future as President of MCC,” he said.

Sangakkara’s year of office will begin on 1st October 2019 and will conclude on 30th September 2020.