Lewis Gregory earns maiden PSL 6 victory for Islamabad United


KARACHI: Lewis Gregory remained not out for 49 as Islamabad United wrapped up their first win in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6 against Multan Sultans. 

Gregory struck six boundaries and a maximum to help United beat Sultans by three wickets.

Earlier, Skipper Mohammad Rizwan dominated with his 71-runs knock as Sultans posted 150-8 in 20 overs.

Sultans lost their opener, Chris Lynn, earlier for just four runs after they were asked to bat first in the third match of PSL 6.

But, Rizwan stood firm despite Sultans lost a couple of more wickets in quick successions. The right-handed batsman scored 71 runs off 53 balls laced with eight boundaries and two sixes.

Rilee Rossouw made 25 runs with the help of two boundaries and as many sixes. Carlos Brathwaite remained not out for 21 runs spread over two boundaries and a six.

For United, Mohammad Wasim Jr bagged three wickets while Lewis Gregory took two. Shadab Khan and Faheem Ashraf shared a wicket apiece.

In reply, United were off to a steady start with openers Phil Salt (13*) and Alex Hales (29*) scoring 30 runs for the first wicket partnership.

Shahid Afridi picked up a wicket and did a run-out to put United under pressure. But, Gregory and Faheem Ashraf stood firm and scored 43 runs together to take their team over the victory line.

Afridi and Carlos Brathwaite bagged two wickets each while Mohammad Umar and Khushdil Shah shared a wicket apiece.

Gregory bagged the man-of-the-match award for his all-round performance.


Skipper of Islamabad United, Shadab Khan has won the toss and decided to bowl first against Multan Sultans in their first match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6.


Islamabad United: Alex Hales, Phil Salt, Shadab Khan, Hussain Talat, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Lewis Gregory, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Zafar Gohar, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan, James Vince, Chris Lynn, Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Khushdil Shah, Shahid Afridi, Carlos Brathwaite, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Umar, Sohaibullah

Read: Rashid, Shaheen star in Qalandars win over Zalmi